Blueberry Pie.

That was my lunch today. And I loved it. As inconsequential as that may sound , I thought it would be a good title for the blog post.
I am sitting here in my room all alone with ‘Ae zindagi gale lagale’ playing on my itunes, while the rain drops outside are threatening to ruin my windowpane. Why does it have to rain all the time in England? All d time? Y cant God be more kind to us?
Anyways I should move on to something certainly more interesting than talking about the infamous english weather.
It’s a lonely afternoon today. I miss people back at home. I miss Ma’s cooking. I miss petting Mocha. I miss talking to friends over the phone for hours. (India calling is really expensive here)
Sometimes I wonder, what am I doing here? Away from all d people I love? Did I really need to come all the way to study?
But then when I look at my life here.. Well this fits too. I like doing things on my own here. From selecting my own bedspreads to cooking on my own, and to sometimes even aimlessly walk on the streets. It fits. Well, a girl can have both roots and wings if she wants, Cant she?
On a completely different context..Some one once told me that without history, our lives amount to nothing.
May be I was too disinterested at that time to ponder. But today as I think of what’s left behind, I think that.. Do we fall back on what we know, or do we step forward to something new? It’s hard not to be haunted by our past. At some point we have to choose. Our history is what shapes us… what guides us. It resurfaces time after time after time. So we have to remember that sometimes the most important history is the history we are making today.

~ by Pooja Shean on October 10, 2009.

2 Responses to “Blueberry Pie.”

  1. Ofcourse we are making history today darling! Even if it as small as eating blueberry pie or making rajma chawal (Thats what i was doing this sunday)..
    M so glad ur are back to blogging! Love reading them! Do keep updating us!

  2. a peep into the english life lived by an indian gal…:)

Leave a comment